If you stop posting online is there anyone to notice?

Standard

it’s been almost 3 years since my last post and yet oddly enough not THAT much has changed in the day to day running of my life. I wonder if others feel that pretty much is the same for them? I bet more people would give a resounding “YES” than not. So what’s new?

That upcoming job switch has been a success

The decision to leave one company after 7 years and ask my boss to follow him to the new job was one of the bravest and best decisions I have made to date. As with all decisions one can make, it hasn’t been all perfect. However, the level of trust given to me and professional and personal growth that I’ve experienced has been tremendous. I work with so many NICE people. Trust me when I say that working with nice people is a pleasure that no one should take for granted. My company works hard to be show their appreciation for their team members. Again, it hasn’t been perfect – there are still hiccups in processes being implemented. I took on a fairly large commute. Some folks refuse to learn new tasks (i.e. stick with the “I’m old school” label). But that is true for probably most companies. And I wouldn’t trade it for anything. The quality of my life right now is so much better than it was – professionally, financially, personally.

(surprise!) I’m still fat.

You can lead a girl to the gym. Take her for walks. Talk to her about carbs and calories and protein. You can remind her that she isn’t getting any younger. But you can’t make her find and stick with the discipline to really put herself first and stop emotionally eating, you know? Again, I doubt this is anything new for many people. Lots of us seem to be emotional eaters and to be overweight. The good news for me is that I haven’t gained any weight really – just vacillated between the same 5-8 lbs for the last several years.

  • And yet I am not giving up. I refuse. Every day I do start it off with what I hope is a good mind set to eat better. And in truth I AM eating better and healthier. I do still over eat. I do still “cheat” and also choose bad foods. I apparently am an equal-opportunity consumer after-all.
  • I still walk – a lot. We have a walking group at work and so we make sure to get a morning walk in every day (that averages about 1.35 miles – not bad when you are trying to not sweat too profusely in your work clothes!)
    • It’s been pretty great getting others to regularly walk both in terms of inspiring others, and having people to walk with
    • We also stand most of the day at work – and I strongly recommend this to people as a great tool for your back and circulation
    • The commute I have taken on has truly dipped into my walking time as I get up very early and also go to bed earlier than I used to. But I just keep trying to get as many steps as I can each day – and some days are better than other.
  • I still weigh myself every day to help keep the insanity in check
  • I track my food via a food app. I’m currently testing/trying out the Livestrong MyPlate app. I really enjoy the Livestrong articles and website in general – moreso than MyFitnessPal. (Granted the MFP food diary is truly huge)
    • The last time I was so successful in losing weight and getting healthier I did a lot of reading on Livestrong so I’m hoping that by going back this will help to re-inspire me to be stronger more often
  • This getting older thing can truly suck. I only say that in terms of the diminishing returns of my own body and efforts. It doesn’t bounce back like it used to. It’s harder to try and impact changes. Being overweight/fat negatively impacts so much – it’s almost comical.
  • I truly do not want to end my life fat and weak. So I must find the might combination of thinking and efforts to make sure I don’t. (How I wish that I had that mind set like some people where food is just “fuel”)

Let’s see what else is new? I mean besides the constant coronavirus scares and updates that are consuming everyone? I suppose there is some relief on my end to hear more news about this pandemic rather than shade being thrown at President Trump. (Oh wait no there is still so much of that consuming the vile Press.)

I jumped ship and am now immersing myself into the Apple Ecosystem.

I still have my gmail account though; and am finding that hard to let go of. I suppose like those co-workers I mentioned earlier – I’m finding it hard to make the time to change and update all of my accounts – as well as people in my life and then dealing with that change.

Maybe I’m also still “old-school”……

Leave a comment