end of an era

psych-series-finale-blogSeems like I like to write about TV and movies so far doesn’t it? Well who doesn’t. And frankly there is only so much geekery I’ll allow myself to spread in posts about World of Warcraft or other such online/gamer nonsense. No one needs to know that I THAT BIG of a nerd, right?

Well this week “Psych” came to an end after 8 fun seasons. I find I’m still thinking about it and a little sad. Did the show (overall) finish as strongly as it had started? Nope. Did it matter? Not really. This last season was very obviously the one to wrap it all up in a neat little bow. And it sure did. I won’t give any spoilers away to those that may be behind or those that have been curious to watch and have yet to watch. But it is very safe for me to say that the finale was as touching, light, lovely, sarcastic, zany, and filled with pop culture goodness – as most of the show had been in its entire run. If you haven’t yet checked it out, Seasons 1-6 are currently on Netflix, and the others are on Amazon if you are interested…

For me, this is another show that my son and I watched together and quite enjoyed. It is one that we still go back and watch old episode and talk about and giggle together. My son (who turns 17 next month) has grown up with Shawn Spencer. And now it is over. I’m sure (as it is naturally wont to) this will mark a change in our relationship as well as he moves away from hanging out with his geeky old mom. Or maybe he won’t and I’ll be stuck with him. Forever.

Well either way – I just want to thank everyone over at “Psych” for so many laughs and fun. For originality and heartwarming stories about relationships. For some awesome pop culture references that took on lives of their own and evolved into long-running-inside jokes for the cast and fans to enjoy. Thank you for giving my son and I something else to bond over. Thank you for introducing us to Timothy Omundson.

Thank you for #Shules. Now…”suck iiiiiit!”

Author: Jenn

Mom. Fan. Geek. Walker. Fan. Can be clever. Fan. Reader. Fan. Working girl. Fan.

Leave a Reply

